You are here: Home Governance


The Pan Pacific Safe Communities Network (PPSCN) is a membership based non-government organization working in injury/violence prevention and safety promotion. It builds on the collective expertise of the 60 Accredited Safe Communities and the organizations that support their safe community efforts.

Governance is provided through a board comprising of communities, accrediting and support centres. See current board members here
Rules of the association are available here.

The PPSCN is working closely with the World Health Organization (WHO) pending its designation as an NGO in official relationship with WHO.











The business language for the PPSCN is English. The governance framework of the PPSCN incorporates the interface with members and stakeholders, the source of strategic decisions that shape the PPSCN and its work, and ultimate accountability for the work and actions of the organisation. The governance framework of the PPSCN is based on the following principles:

a. Participation: providing all members and stakeholders with a voice in decision-making

b. Transparency: built on the free flow of information and timely and balanced disclosure to members, stakeholders and the public

c. Responsiveness: of institutions and processes to members and stakeholders, recognising the legitimate interests of members and stakeholders

d. Consensus orientation: differing interests are mediated to reach a broad consensus on what is in the common interest, respecting the rights and interests of members, stakeholders and those involved in community safety programs

e. Equity: all members have opportunities for involvement in the governance of the PPSCN

f. Sharing: of resources, including costs for administration of the PPSCN

g. Effectiveness and efficiency: processes and institutions producing results that meet needs while making the best use of resources, and encourage performance improvement whilst recognising and managing risk

h. Accountability: of decision-makers to members and stakeholders; promoting ethical and responsible decision making; structuring the Board to lay solid foundations for management and oversight, to add value and to safeguard the reliability and integrity of financial reporting

i. Strategic vision: leaders and the members have a broad and long-term perspective on good governance and human development, along with a sense of what is needed for such development. There is also an understanding of the historical, cultural and social complexities in which that perspective is grounded.